Copying a .uf2 file onto the CPLAYBOOT drive just kills the drive

i’m fairly new to makecode and CPE, but had lots of luck messing with CircuitPython and MuEditor.
now turning my attention to makecode, i get the same result on 2 different computers:
copying the .uf2 file that downloads from makecode onto the CPLAYBOOT drive does one thing - disconnects the CPLAYBOOT drive from the system entirely. game over.
CPE in bootloader mode - check.
files on the drive look right (txt file shows most recent version, etc.)
copy the file that run perfectly in the simulator onto CPLAYBOOT…lights out, drive disconnect.
i even checked that makecode could pair with the drive - it did - no difference.

appreciate any guidance.

Once a UF2 file is finished copying to the drive, it should disappear and the device should reset, starting the program you just “flashed.”

thanks for your response.
so, here’s what does happen, not sure about what should happen, kind of why i am asking.

1 >> CPE reset, now in bootloader mode. (all neo-LEDS green, on is green, D13 is pulsing red).

assuming this is normal state.
device shows as CPLAYBOOT in Explorer, has 3 files on it (CURRENT.UF2, INDEX.HTM, INFO_UF2.TXT, dated 12/12/2018).

2 >> using Explorer, drag a .uf2 file from a folder onto the CPLAYBOOT drive
file is: circuitplayground-Siren.uf2
exactly the file downloaded from MakeCode after testing in simulator

3 >> let go of drag file
4 >> all lights on CPE go off except green power LED

PC sound indicating USB drive removed
CPLAYBOOT no longer in Explorer
green power light on CPE, no other lights

and here i sit dumbfounded.

5 >> reset CPE manually - looks like beginning state (just the 3 2018 files, etc.)

so, i can’t tell if ‘file is finished copying to drive’.
all i know is, after 4 >>, lights out. literally.

it appears when it begins to write the file, USB badness begins - but just my observation.

i am on a Dell Optiplex.
this EXACT behavior is seen on a new Lenovo notebook.