Locations and Objects

Hey guys! Total Newbie here with Arcade. Looking for some help checking locations of certain tiles.

First question:
Is there a way to use the location object to check if it matches a specific tile?
Something like this:

I’ve been cheating and playing another sprite at the location and checking for a collision. However this way I can’t use the tile gallery.

The other solution that I was using was round(x/16-1) but this would be a little more challenging for my students.

The other question is how would I go and console log the location object? Everytime I just get “{}”.
"

Greatly appreciate any assistance.

I think you can drag the block that says the location col/row into the red location ellipse. Next, you can remove the if statement. I’m not sure, thins is just a guess.

Doesn’t seem to allow me to drag a tilemap location into the location eclipse of the function.

Do you mean this ‘if’ statement (tile at (tilemap col row is )

Also take a look at the ‘Tilemaps’ extension. It might have the functions you are looking for.

Once you have a location, you could then log a property value of the location.

1 Like

You can use the location object from the function to check if it matches a tile using that collision block under scene. Feeling like there should be a tile at… block so that you can pull the coordinates from the location object.
Using the extension:

The moment I want to compare two locations, it doesn`t seem to work. I assume that it’s because it is missing the “tile at” when trying to pull from the tilemap.

Without the tilemap block its able to compare both.

Unless there’s a better way, I guess this become a feature request for the following block:

Screenshot 2020-11-01 214342_LI

Could you find a way to work with these blocks?