Microsoft MakeCode

Logic not working right

Hi

I’m very new to coding. I’m taking a class and we got a task where we had to make a game.
The game is that you have to press buttonA and then buttonB to score points.

I spent over 4 hours being beyond frustrated when trying to figure it out and was extremely happy when I found this soloution all on my own.

The only problem with my code is that it changes the number of points by only pressing buttonB and I don’t understand why.
I think the problem lies in logic but I cannot for the life of me see what’s wrong!

Some translations:
antallPoeng = number of points
knappA = buttonA
knappB = buttonB

I have found a simpler soloution that works perfectly without bugs, but I really want to understand why this code isn’t working.

Hopefully some really smart people can help me!

Whenever my students are having difficulty with debugging their code, I always tell them, “play computer.” In other words, pretend you are the computer, and follow your instructions exactly as you have written them.

For your program, when you press the A button, this code runs:

So, the only thing that happens is the variable knappA is changed to on. We can make keep track of that in a table of variables:

variable value
antallPoeng 0
knappA on
knappB off

So, when pressing the A button, nothing in the code changes the score.

Now, let’s see what happens when the B button is pressed:

The first thing that happens is the knappB variable is set to on. Let’s make a note of that in our table:

variable value
antallPoeng 0
knappA on
knappB on

Then, we reach the if statement. If knappA is on and knappB is on, then we run the code in the upper block. If not, then we run the code in the lower block. From our table above, we see that both knappA and knappB are on. So, the upper block runs. In that upper block, we add 1 to andtallPoeng, and we set knappA and knappB to off. Let’s update our table:

variable value
antallPoeng 1
knappA off
knappB off