Microsoft MakeCode

Noob questions

Hi all,

I’m a long-standing developer.
I have a number of random questions, if anyone can answer them, it would be super-helpful to my coding!

1. How does the sprite collision detection operate? Is it distance from centre point, or bounding box, or non-transparent pixel overlap, or something else? Essentially, I’m trying to figure out how to design levels for a platformer and get the jump distances just right, and I need to know if just one pixel overlapping would be enough to trigger an overlap, or what criteria are being used.

2. If a tile map contains a landscape, (say, gentle rolling hills), how should player movement be handled - i.e. if I want a player sprite of a car to move forward and be able to traverse the landscape, how would I do that in a tile map?

3. What is the maximum size of a tile map?

4. Can you have multiple tile maps representing different parts of a level?

5. Why don’t Sprite flags, and kinds show up in the debugger?

Thanks for any insights!

1 Like

Answers, in order:

1. For sprite-sprite collisions, it’s based on non transparent pixels. For sprite-tile collisions, it’s based on bounding boxes. All tiles have the same bounding box, regardless of image contents (it’s set by the tilesize) but sprites use a box that bounds the non-transparent pixels. This is mostly done to make the physics engine run faster with large tilemaps.
  2. Are you asking about how to snap the movement to the tile grid? If so, this is something we’re looking to improve. If you have any suggestions we’d love to hear them!
  3. The max size is 2000x2000 tiles on beta beta (arcade.makecode.com/beta)
  4. You can load/unload tilemaps by calling the setTileMap function, but you can only have one tilemap loaded at a time. They cannot be layered (but maybe will be down the road)