What age is MakeCode Arcade suitable for

I’m a teacher looking for a platform for beginner programming for 14 to 15 year olds. I am thinking about using MC Arcade, but when I tried some of the tutorials, they seem almost babyish. Would my students be too old for this platform?

2 Likes

Hey,

I’m one of the developers on the MakeCode team. We aim at Arcade having a relatively low bar with a high ceiling – most (if not all) of the tutorials on the homepage are intended to be able to serve as an entry point for new users of all ages, so they tend to be very explicit and and thorough for that.

For some more ‘aged up’ experiences, there are a few places I’d suggest you to start looking:

• Every once in a while we’ll host ‘gamejams’ where users will create games around a given theme with a time constraint (e.g. one to two weeks). Here are a few of our previous ones for reference: https://arcade.makecode.com/gamejam/all - there were a good number of entries across the board
  • Here on the forum – we get a lot posts so it’s hard to think of which to bring up right away, but here are a few things that come to mind right away
    • The user created 3d raycasting extension Raycasting 3D render -- Blocks Edition which has been in vogue lately – anyone can make their own extension which adds blocks to the toolbox to expand options available to users, which can be a nice way to have students work together (e.g. have one student with prior coding experience create an extension that adds a feature that the other students in the group can use in their game)
    • another user made a gallery which shows forum games in an easier to pick out fashion, so I’d suggest perusing the ‘most liked’ games from the forums: https://games-gallery.jacobcarpenter.com/all-time