Moving enemies side to side

Hi,
I am a teacher and using microsoft arcade to build a game with my class.

I would love to be able to make the enemies move side to side ‘Mario mushroom’ style which the player sprite can jump on to destroy but I can’t work out how to do it or find a video that does.

Thanks for your help!

Hi, Mr. Groom! That’s super cool :smiley: here’s a program with the “jumping on enemies” behavior:

The main things are:

1. Using a “bounce on walls = true” flag on the mushroom enemies so they’ll bounce between the walls.
  2. Checking when a sprite of kind Player overlaps a sprite of kind Enemy - if the player has a positive Y (falling), and its bottom is higher than the enemy’s y, then I count that as a valid stomp. Otherwise the player loses health

I also have the mushroom flipping its image when it hits a wall! There are definitely things that aren’t there, so if you have more questions please let me know! or if this wasn’t the behavior you were looking for :sweat_smile:

Hi - so I think I have added gravity but the enemy just bounces around off the walls. How can I ensure that it stays on a wall after falling off a ledge?

Thanks

Hi,
Thanks so much for getting back to us quickly with the information. This is perfect - I was making it much more complicated than necessary!

PS - We (the teachers) are enjoying watching the livestreams you have all made to get tips and the children are loving using Microsoft make code. By the end we would have made a total of 100 games driven by narratives that have been written.

Thanks for your help!

The bounce on walls behaviour will bounce on any wall so when you fall off a platform some of that velocity is flipped and you end up with bouncy enemies.

Here’s an image from another thread that talked about how to program this behaviour

credit to @shakao

2 Likes

haha yup totally forgot bounce on walls will bounce them in every direction.