Microsoft MakeCode

Boulders and Gems (work in progress)

Can you collect all the gems without getting crushed by boulders?

This is a work in progress and it’s obviously inspired by Boulder Dash, but with a focus on puzzles instead of quick reactions. (There’s no timer, and no need for fast inputs.) It currently has five levels. The first two are quick tutorials, but later ones get a bit more devious.

If you get stuck, press the A+B buttons together to restart the level at the cost of a life.

I’ll look into adding enemies and more levels next, and maybe making the graphics and effects a bit less placeholder-y.

From the coding side, this should be using only Blocks functionality, though I did some editing in JS for convenience which may have resulted in leftover bits. I’m new to MakeCode Arcade so I likely missed out on easier ways to do things.

There’s slightly tricky logic to keep the directional inputs responsive even though the world is updating only 5 times/second. It’s also very important to avoid accidental double movement since that can be deadly in this game.

I haven’t had a chance to try this on real hardware yet, so it’s possible that it doesn’t run well. (The rock falling physics are rather crude.) Please let me know how it works for you if you try it, or if you find bugs or have suggestions. Enjoy!

4 Likes

This reminds me of dig dug

1 Like

Here’s a new version:

Changes:

• long-press the B button to restart a level. (Pressing A+B together didn’t work in the simulator with touch/mouse input.)
  • added a 6th level.
4 Likes

I can’t get past the third level. It’s hard but fun!! The game is lit :fire:

1 Like

Thanks! Here’s an updated version with a level select function, walk onto the “?” mark to skip levels:

It fixes a few bugs, i.e. it now blocks input after switching levels to avoid accidental movement, and I’ve slightly tweaked some of the levels. Watch out for traps in level 4 :smiling_imp:

1 Like