Introducing... Halo-Doom/Wolfenstein3D (But I'll call it Halo-Doom)!

Hello, I worked on this for a couple of days now and I’m proud to announce the first demo of Halo-Doom has been released to the public!

Using the Fake 3D Raycasting Demo from @mmoskal, I added this list of features:

• Zoom/ADS (The change in view only changes when the system registers a button input (e.g. W or D))
  • Firing with recoil
  • Hand-drawn art
  • Armour + Health system (No enemies yet so can’t test that; I will elaborate later)
  • Realistic ammo counter with max ammo limits

Now, for some help:
I’m no Javascript expert (Nor novice), so I can’t really delve into the raycasting stuff. That being said there are no enemies. This is because I have actually no clue as to how to code them. If anyone has any ideas please go ahead :slight_smile:

Remember, this is still a demo so expect updates and calls for help!

Developer Notes:
While making the demo I actually didn’t know how to increase the FOV for the zoom (Or to give the illusion of zoom), so I considered switching out the ADS for a pistol. But in the midst of coding the pistol, I found out that changing the FPX scale changed the FOV.

5 Likes

Cool game!

In case you want to add enemies, I know that the tutorial below is for scratch, but it does have the basic idea of how to do depth sorting, and with Makecode’s new scaling, a code similar to this might work (obviously accounting for how more positioning in makecode has to be done manually, but the general principle is there). I don’t do scratch, but I watched the whole series that these two videos below are from and some of the concepts are really cool and could work for this game!

Sprites in a 3D World | E3. Crazy Fun Raycasting - YouTube
Sprites Behind Walls (Depth Sorting) | E4. Crazy Fun Raycasting - YouTube

3 Likes

Man, raycasting is so cool

by the way, the controls are:

WASD to Move
SPACE/A to Aim/ADS
ENTER/B to Shoot
L to Reload

hol’ up
WAIT A MINUTE