Microsoft MakeCode

Creating Custom Board - Question About Pin Hardware Numbers?

Hi there. I am currently working on a project for a local company, the main premise of it being to get their custom board up and running on the MakeCode Maker simulator. However, I am a programming student with very little knowledge of the hardware itself.

When creating a custom board, the file config.ts is to be updated to include the pin names as well as the pin hardware numbers (ex. export const PIN_RCC1 = DAL.PA07 - the bolded being what this question is about). I’m sorry to bug the forum with something that may be a bit stupid, but what are the pin hardware numbers and how does one figure out what they are?

Thank you for any help you can give.

1 Like

Here’s the answer I posted in the micro:bit topic (I think the question was added to an existing thread on your behalf). I’m posting my reply here too. I’m also adding just a few details that weren’t covered there:

I haven’t done this sort of thing, but it looks like this guide is helpful: https://www.hackster.io/wallarug/makecode-creating-custom-boards-92d933.

I think the config.ts is a map of the symbolic pin names from the simulator to the actual hardware pin names.

I’m using an example from https://github.com/microsoft/pxt-maker/blob/master/libs/adafruit-trinket-m. Here’s an example of how I think it fits together…There are several symbols that are used and the are in multiple files.

1. D0 , A2 , and SDA are all symbols that are used when programming ( D0 is digital in/out 0. A2 is Analog in 2, etc.). Often a pin can do multiple functions — in this case a single pin does all three of these things, but is usually only used for one at a time. If I’m doing digital work, I’ll think of it as D0 . If I’m doing analog work, I’d think of it as A2 .
  2. In some places it’s important to be aware that this one thing serves all three purposes, so the name A2_D0_SDA is used too.